Autism and interviews

autisticmotherland

img_1659 [image shows the text ‘Performing without a script’ against a background image showing a manual typewriter on a bleached wood plank desktop]

Performing without a script

This week I had an (unsuccessful) interview for a role which I was quite capable of doing and which would have fulfilled a long-held ambition. I am not confident or arrogant enough to have thought I stood a chance against the competition, but I had hoped to demonstrate my capabilities at interview and to come away believing that I had given my best.

Instead, I completely fell apart.

Despite being diagnosed autistic, I still have moments when I wonder if the diagnosis was wrong. After all, I manage to balance the demands of work and family life, I am independent and fairly well educated. I didn’t think I needed much in the way of support and adjustments. But, slowly, I am realising that for…

View original post 636 more words

Leave a Reply

