Autism Speaks *still* does not speak for me

The Caffeinated Autistic

Most of the folks who read my blog do so because they googled the phrase “Why is Autism Speaks bad” or some variant.  They know me to be an outspoken person and not afraid to explain why Autism Speaks will never be among the organizations I support.  This is, of course, not in any way on a whim or by some ridiculous grudge. There are a host of reasons why Autism Speaks doesn’t speak for me or for other autistic people.

But I must admit that my original post on them isn’t 100% accurate anymore.  There have been two notable changes to their organization within the past year and a half  – 1. They have removed the word “cure” from their mission statement and 2. They have added two autistic board members to their organization.

So, of course I’m sure this makes people question the veracity of the claims that…

View original post 1,074 more words

Leave a Reply

