THINKING PERSON’S GUIDE TO AUTISM: Do Me a Favor

r if they’re NT or autistic or whatever. Empathy is about believing the other person is doing their best. Nothing was more touching than when my loved ones stopped fighting me and started accepting me. When they acted like they finally KNEW me, instead of some other idea of who I should be they had constructed in their minds, and expecting things of me I’m not capable of and don’t even want. This also allows your loved one autonomy. You are no longer trying to shape them into someone you need them to be. It gives respect to their preferred way of doing things and allows them to learn in the ways that fit them best. Whether it’s math or morals or managing emotions. We’re all different, and I think that’s the point of being human.ReportReplyJean Carroll · 171 weeks agoI need constant reminders of this. Like you, I am very close to my son, but I seem to constantly slip back to assuming he doesn’t understand everything. I need a reminder pasted to my forehead! I really love this post. Thank you. XXXReportReplyHeather · 165 weeks agoClose MessageComment posted.Share on Facebook or Close MessageI have classical autism. I’ve had it for 37 years (meaning, that’s my age). Thank you for this post, thank you! I am so blessed that my parents assumed my competence. It made it easier when the rest of the world didn’t. Of course, not when engaging in online discourse, I have the opposite problem–but we’ll one day come together!

Source: THINKING PERSON’S GUIDE TO AUTISM: Do Me a Favor

Leave a Reply

